Marshall takes home Jr. Model UN honors

Marshall takes home Jr. Model UN honors

Marshall Middle School (MMS) students attended the 44th annual San Diego Regional Junior Model United Nations Conference (SDRJMUN ) on May 12-13 and took home top honors as Best Middle School Delegation.

The conference had a focus on international relations and peace-building, and included students from middle and high schools from around San Diego County. Marshall students spent two days discussing and solving issues related to foreign policy, economics, history and diplomacy. The topics included humanitarian crises, peacekeeping, global equity, human rights and the environment. 

The SDRJMUN conference is described as “a conference ‘for students by students.’ Local high school students work as a secretariat to set the agendas, read the position papers and resolutions, and chair the committees. Their expertise comes from their own experiences through the JMUN and MUN circuits within San Diego County.”

JMUN at Marshall is led by high school students from Scripps Ranch High School. These high school students spend their free time planning meetings, teaching Marshall students position paper/resolution writing, public speaking and what to expect on the day of the conference.

“We want to thank our high school students for their hard work, dedication, and for fostering an environment that allowed Marshall students to grow and achieve in all areas,” MMS Advisor Suzanne Fox said.

These Scripps Ranch High School students were Priya Kamath, Noah Hampshire, Fredric Ohara and Aliza Alibhai.

The Marshall Middle Delegation included Olivia Teates, Nita Kamath, Vivian Wang, Nidhi Mehta, Sophia Fodera, Mariyah Kirton, Diya Nair, Ivanka Desphande, Laiba Farooqi, Tara Kamath, Arjun Dasgupt, Anjishnu Debnath and Keira Doshi.